Chimes of Freedom: Using Music To Teach; The Fourth Amendment Song Contest

11 Jun

I remember reading a piece called ‘TSA Arrests Me for Using the Fourth Amendment as a Weapon (Tales from the Edge of a Revolution #2)” at dailykos.com.  It’s one of my favorite stories about TSA civil disobedience. A woman was arrested for reciting the fourth amendment, calmly but loudly, while receiving a TSA groping. It’s infuriating, but this woman is a hero in my eyes.  After reading this, I decided I should make sure I knew the fourth amendment by heart, and be capable of saying it effortlessly in case I was ever in a similar situation.

I then started thinking about my niece, and how much I fear her going to public schools when she is old enough.  I worry about the conditioning and and overall indoctrination into this “backwards is forwards” world and mindset propagated by the puppet masters. I wondered if she will ever say the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag or sing ‘My Country ‘Tis of Thee‘ like I did as a child.

With the poor state of education and the erosion of our basic rights in mind, I decided to make up a little diddy to sing to teach her those sacred words of freedom; the only words that stand between our liberty and a complete authoritarian government ruled by martial law and the elite oligarchy. I must admit, my rendition is pretty awful and she was quite sleepy the evening I sang the fourth amendment softly near her ear, swaying her back and forth as she snuggled on my lap.

I found I felt an even greater sense of appreciation for the fourth amendment now that I could say it fluidly without much thought.  I found being able to spout it off word for word was helpful in debates, or when explaining to people how they are being violated. (They don’t know how the many government-created “inconveniences” in life are actual unconstitutional abuses!  The conditioning has such a tight, deep hold on the psyche of the masses.).  Who can argue with those simple words?  Allow me to rephrase that: What sane, non-governmental establishment minion or puppet master can argue with those humble, magical words; those words we will fight for until we take our last breaths?

Sometimes I sing my awful jingle in my head, laughing silently at myself, and grateful, but not content, that I still have a little bit of freedom left, clutched tightly in my small, slender hands.

So, who would be up for creating and sharing their own versions of a fourth amendment diddy, or complete song, to show how much those words and your freedom mean to you, and to help others learn them?

It could be just a short jingle or a whole song with the fourth amendment incorporated as the chorus or just one part.  It can be humorous or heart-felt or scathingly sarcastic; do whatever your freedom-loving, musical soul desires. I’d prefer videos posted to youtube. You could just have audio with a picture if you don’t want to do a live action video. I will post all entries on my blog and we could have a voting contest to pick the best renditions if anyone is interested, or it could be purely for fun, which it pretty much is, anyway.  We could brainstorm about prizes.  I’m willing to drop $20 on something to give away, or make a donation in someone’s name.  Or maybe an artist could draw a custom picture or ribbon with the winning song and artist somewhere on it to be displayed on profiles, blogs, etc.  I’m sure someone has some better ideas, but this is just a starting point.  So come on, let’s have a little fun and bring more attention to the freedom movement.   Maybe it would become a meme or go viral, who knows.  Most importantly, maybe more people would appreciate those blessed words once again.

“The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

Now is The Time.  The Time is Now.

It’s time to resist. (and sing!)

I’m still looking for blog contributors.

2 Responses to “Chimes of Freedom: Using Music To Teach; The Fourth Amendment Song Contest”

  1. Mikel Joyne July 13, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  2. Leonard Marks July 18, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    great post

Leave a Reply

